Skip to main content

The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum are open to the public. The Research Room is open by appointment only, which must be scheduled by 3:00pm if wishing to visit the next business day. Schedule a virtual orientation prior to booking travel. We respond to written requests for records at Please check our website or for COVID updates.

Economic events during the George W. Bush administration include income tax cuts in 2001 and 2003 and a subprime mortgage crisis in 2007 - 2008 that led to a period known as the Great Recession. Some major themes of President George W. Bush's economy policy include economic stimulus, job creation, economic growth, and fiscal responsibility.


President Bush and Treasury Secretary Hank Paulson
President George W. Bush and Secretary Henry Paulson of the U.S. Department of the Treasury pause for questions after their meeting on November 24, 2008 at the Treasury Department.

Did You Know...

The National Economic Council (NEC) is the principal forum used by the President for considering economic policy matters. The NEC has a four part mission: coordinate the economic policy making process; provide economic policy advice to the President; ensure that economic policy decisions and programs are consistent with the President's stated goals; and monitor the implementation of the President's economic goals. The council forms part of the Office of White House Policy. The Director of the NEC is titled the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy and Director of the National Economic Council. The NEC is distinct from the Council of Economic Advisers (CEA). The CEA provides recommendations and analysis for the President based on objective economic research and empirical evidence and prepares the annual Economic Report of the President. Both the NEC and CEA are part of the White House Offices, a subset of the Executive Office of the President.

President Bush addresses women business leaders in 2001
President George W. Bush speaks to women business leaders in the East Room of the White House on March 20, 2001. Also pictured are Secretary of Agriculture Ann Veneman, Secretary of the Interior Gale Norton, and Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao.

The United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is an independent federal agency. It has a three part mission: protect investors; maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets; and facilitate capital formation. The members of the SEC are appointed by the President and the President also designates one of the commissioners as chairman, the SEC's top executive.


The following carefully selected resources, some of which are from the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum, provide further information about economics and finance in the U.S.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Requests

Archival Research Guide

For a more complete guide of the archival records that are open for research, please download the Archival Research Guide:

Additional Resources

Additional photo essays, Presidential Messages and Statements, press releases, and more from 2001 - 2009 are available through the Archived White House Website.